The Wizard of “Uh”s


I admit it, I am easily amused.

Once I discovered the Wordle tool, I haven’t been able to stop playing with it. And when my husband suggested that I try it on a transcript of an Obama speech when he’s not on the TelePrompter (and no, this doesn’t count), I simply couldn’t resist.

You may recall that President Obama held a press conference last month, during which he spoke both with and without the aid of his trusty TelePromtper. His on-prompter performance was, as usual, nearly flawless. Once he abandoned it to answer actual live questions from the press, however, the real Uh-Meister came to the fore.

I took the transcript provided by the Washington Post, played the video of the conference, and added back in all the “Uh”s the the Post so kindly left out. Since the presser was a long, drawn-out affair, I only used Obama’s answers to the first three questions, but that was plenty. And the Wordle that was created speaks volumes. In this case, the picture is worth a thousand words: Uh. Uh. Uh. Uh. Uh…obama-uh-wordle1

Obama’s language, like his politics, is still coming from the Land of “Uh”s.

Stoutcat

P.S. don’t believe me? Here’s the text, uh’s and all, with link to the WaPo transcript and video. Go to Wordle.net and try it for yourself.

6 Responses to The Wizard of “Uh”s

  1. […] Original post by Stoutcat […]

  2. Sissy Willis says:

    What fun! I’m surprised the word “I” isn’t more prominent, though. 🙂

  3. Gerry Ashley says:

    Have you thought of a comparison between Preident Uh-Bama and your own Senator Ted Ken-UH-dy? I think you might just break the software in the process. But it would be interesting to see who’s the bigger DUHmmy of the two.

  4. […] this, she outdoes her mentor. As you may recall, we parsed one of President Obama’s recent press conferences. In that instance, we took the answers he […]

  5. Francesco says:

    Hi Stoutcat! Please have a look to this post this post. One of my friends has made a mistake and appologized.
    Congratulations for your idea!

    • Stoutcat says:

      Hello Francesco, thanks for linking to our blog! Wish I could read Portuguese (?) to know what was said in your blogpost, but we’re glad you are visiting us.

Leave a comment