Guns and More Guns!

No, we’re not talking about Fast and Furious today. We’re talking about what a beautiful weekend it was, and how much fun it was to go to the bucolic and gorgeous Cape Cod Fish and Game club and do some shooting!

Some of you may remember reading my post about the process of getting a license in Massachusetts from last year. Since then, about the only thing I’ve done, gun-wise, was purchase a S&W kit gun, which is a nice little revolver; but after taking it to the range and trying it out, I found I didn’t really enjoy shooting it. What to do, what to do?

Off to the gun store again, to trade it in for a Walther P22 and a Henry Survival Rifle.

First off, CCF&G is a lovely club, embodying so much that is beautiful about life on Cape Cod. Set in a rural area, there’s a trap area, rifle range, pistol range, and soon-to-be-opened plinking range. Plus an outdoor archery trail, and indoor archery range, and an indoor pistol range still in process. Plus, there’s a pond to swim, kayak, or fish in. Best of all possible worlds, eh? Here’s a quick look at the area:

So spouse and I went over to the pistol range and tried out both the Walther and the Henry. After several hundred rounds (and boy, was that fun!) I must say that I am quite impressed with both. The P22 is a sweet little handful, and because I was using Mini-Mags, I saw nary a mis-fire.

The Henry… what can I say about a rifle that can be completely disassembled, fits into its own 16.5″ buttstock, and only weighs 2.5 pounds?

I can say that it’s a fantastic rifle! And surprisingly accurate, as well. This is the type of firearm you can toss into your backpack when going camping or hiking. Or put it into the “hurricane-tornado-flood” survival box in case of the need for evacuation. Or just take to the range and shoot!

So after my first real day at the range, I can say with certainty that I am hooked! Can’t wait for next weekend…

Stoutcat

One Response to Guns and More Guns!

  1. Gerry Ashley says:

    Question: Aren’t you afraid you’ll be accused by libs of being one of those conservatives “clinging to their guns and bibles?”

    Answer: No, but God knows THEY should be…

Leave a comment