Tony Bennett: What A Difference A Day Made

You probably heard or read about Tony Bennett’s incredibly wrong-headed, not to mention nonsensical statement to Howard Stern the other day, about the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks:

“Who are the terrorists? Are we the terrorists, or are they the terrorists? Two wrongs don’t make a right. They flew the plane in, but we caused it. We were bombing them, and they told us to stop.”

In an attempt to control the damage, yesterday, Mr. Bennett “clarified” his remarks:

“I am sorry if my statements suggested anything other than an expression of my love for my country, my hope for humanity and my desire for peace throughout the world.”

In other words, sorry you didn’t like what I said. Buy my new album anyway.

Sorry, Mr. Bennett, but if I thought about you at all, you’d realize that I’ve got a cold, cold heart on this matter. Time after time we have to deal with all the liberal spinning. And the way you look tonight after your second statement makes me think you’re going to be a stranger in paradise. For once in your life, can’t you find it in your heart to realize that you’re having the good life, and the best is yet to come–because you live in America.

And if I ruled the world, you’d be walking down the boulevard of broken dreams for your comments.

Stoutcat

One Response to Tony Bennett: What A Difference A Day Made

  1. Gerry Ashley says:

    I’ve been a fan of Tony Bennett’s for years, bur after this, all I can say is….

    He may have left his heart in San Francisco, but it sounds like he left his head there too, using that kind of logic. What a sorrowful way to bring his career to an end… and just another example of why celebrities should do what they do best: sing, act, dance, go on hate-filled benders against the producer of a show that made them all millionaires… But shut your mouth when it comes to preaching politics if you want to keep your audience.

    Sad. Still… I wanna be around to pick up the pieces …

Leave a Reply

