Dog-Killer Signs with NFL’s Eagles


UPDATE: HotAir is taking a poll. Go vote.

Gerry was right. The Philadelphia Eagles lost sight of their moral compass enough to sign Michael Vick yesterday. Even though the Eagles were one of the 26 teams who said they had no interest in Vick, they have clearly given up any pretension to being anything other than desperate.

The NFL Fanhouse site suggests that while this may not have been the worst choice the Eagles could make, Vick is still a very iffy proposition:

This is an experiment. Philadelphia, which could use a third quarterback option after backup Kevin Kolb‘s MRI revealed a sprained MCL in his left knee, is kicking the tires on a used luxury car. And the Eagles’ mechanics better look over this carefully before they make a final decision.

It remains to be seen how the Eagles fans feel about this. I would hope that not a single ticket sells for any Eagles game, home or away.

Professional football is a great game, but there are thugs a-plenty in the NFL already. The last thing it needs is the poster child for such vile behavior.

Stoutcat

16 Responses to Dog-Killer Signs with NFL’s Eagles

  1. […] The rest is here: Dog-Killer Signs with NFL’s Eagles […]

  2. Tom Jones says:

    I went to the Eagles website and through the contact form left a nasty message. I suggest others do the same.

  3. Steved says:

    Vick has paid his dues. Maybe, just maybe, if Vick continues to carry himself well, this situation can turn into a net positive.

    • Stoutcat says:

      Steve, he served some time in jail. After brutalzing and killing countless dogs, I wouldn’t actually say he’s paid his dues. I truly hope he can turn himself around, but I’m not holding my breath. Read Gerry’s post to see why I feel this way. Perhaps he could re-start in society by volunteering for a year (full-time) at an animal shelter. Then maybe work his way up for another year by cleaning stables and working with horses. Then maybe another year working with service dogs. I might consider that as paying his dues. If after all that he still wants to re-apply to the NFL, well, be my guest.

      The NFL commissioner and the Eagles bear a share in this also. Greed is a powerful motivator to overlook (or understate as foibles) real problems in the interest of big bucks. In my opinion, you have to draw a line somewhere, and Vick is clearly still on the wrong side of that line.

    • Gerry Ashley says:

      Steve, let me add something here that I feel needs to be said: It’s become little more than a cliche to say “He paid his dues… etc.” IF Vick were a normal person who simply made a mistake once, got caught and realized the error of his ways, then your statement would apply. In VICK’s case, this was a pattern of behavior he gleefully repeated for over FIVE YEARS. The only thing HE regrets is getting caught and losing MILLIONS of dollars in signing bonus, playing contract and endorsements. Trust me on this: His remorse for the dogs he’s brutilized, tortured and killed is way down the list on what he’s regretting. And this changes EVERYTHING.

      It’s no longer a case of a misguided youth making a bad decision and getting caught. It’s about a person who is a vicious sadist who WILLFULLY and WANTONLY tortured and killed dogs over a 5 year period, stopping only because he was caught.

      Of COURSE he’s going to say all the right things now. He want’s to get back into the money trough and wallow in the big bucks and that’s just how his lawyer told him how to do it: Tell the world how sorry you are.

      It would be more credible if he were to SHOW THE WORLD. As Suzy mentioned, if the man had any credibility, he would volunteer and WALK THE WALK long enough for people to be able to say, “See that? He’s really proving how sorry he is…” You don’t do that by signing a million dollar contract less than a month out of stir, then make a couple of public statements, most likely written by his lawyer.

      WHERE’S THE REMORSE? His only remorse seems to be for the money he’s missed and the endorsements he lost (and hopefully lost for good). There’s a stain that will follow him for the rest of his life. He made a choice… a very bad choice and went with it for 5 years. Had he NOT been caught, he’d STILL be slamming dogs into trees until they were dead. Yes, Steve, that’s exactly what he did. He shot them, he electrocuted them (but not all at once), he drowned some, and some, he merely grabbed them by the hind legs and swung them so their heads would SLAM into tree trunks. Got that? And he continued for 5 long years. There’s no telling how many dogs suffered horribly, then died at his hands.

      THAT’S not a person who made a simple mistake and should be welcomed back into society after 18 months. Those dues are NOT paid. No. THIS is a SADISTIC killer. He will TALK THE TALK for now. But mark my words, he will find some other way to satisfy his craving for inflicting pain on something weaker than himself. Maybe a woman, maybe get into a bar fight, possibly a child, maybe even another animal. But one thing YOU need to understand is that SADISTS are never CURED. They may do time, but that isn’t “paying his dues.”

      Once you understand the difference between a man who makes a stupid mistake and truly regrets it, and a man who makes an intentional decision to inflict pain and terror as he kills another living animal or human, THEN you might understand the reasoning behind the opposition to Vick. It’s not because I’m a dog lover. But I AM someone who hates Sadists and resents having them welcomed back into society, espcially into a professional sports environment. The NFL has just lost at least ONE fan. And I’m hoping that a lot of others will voice their disapproval to the Commissioner as well.

  4. LaMar Peterson says:

    I vote no on a second chance for Vick. He never gave the dogs a second chance. He just had the put to death if they were not good fighters or used them to train killer dogs or for breeders. I for one will boycott the Eagles games even though I watched every game I could with them last year.

    LaMar Peterson

    • Gerry Ashley says:

      You’ve got it, sir. I wrote a rather lengthy reply to Steve, just above. I hope you take the time to read it, but you definitely get it.

      The NFL Commissioner (Roger Goodell) AND the Eagles showed an absolute lack of class, wisdom and common sense. They don’t deserve our acknowledgement or support in ANY manner. In fact, I’m going to see what corporations are corporate sponsors with the Eagles and let them know how upset I am at this. As for Goodell, he ought to resign for making this decision to allow Vick back in, even conditionally.

      Imagine, for a moment, if they hadn’t put Ted Bundy to death. Should HE be let out after 18 months and allowed to continue his “pursuit of happiness” which just happened to be killing young women? Darn the luck for them, huh? Well Bundy was a Sadist also. He obtained pleasure from what he did. And he continued to go around the country on a killing spree until he too got caught. Only instead of dogs, his victim of choice was capricious, naive young college-age gals. And they were about as trusting as Vick’s dogs were to him.

      Fortunately for Vick, there’s no death penalty for killing dogs. But the same kind of mental disorder responsble for Bundy and others of that ilk is shared with Vick. Oh, he may be able to bottle it for awhile, but he won’t be able to keep it in forever. If the NFL thinks it got a black eye from OJ Simpson, Just wait until Vick screws up big time and they are reminded that they let him back into the NFL (National Felons’ League). Don’t look to me for sympathy, Roger Goodell. In fact, I think people should call for his resignation. But it probably won’t happen.

  5. Steved says:

    I certainly understand the ire and I don’t want to give the impression that I’m defending Vick. I’m a dog owner/lover myself. Vick deserves everything he got. If you are in the “no-second-chance” camp, then I respect your take and I am not trying to change your mind. I will, however, offer an explanation for my first post….

    I don’t know Vick. I don’t know his heart or why he did what he did. Maybe he is truly evil, or maybe there is something reformable about him. It seems to me that he has payed a significant price. Besides prison, he was (probably for the first time in his life) knocked off his pedestal, he had his wealth destroyed and part of anything he earns from here out will be going to pay civil penalties. He’s been pilloried (rightfully) for two years and his name is tainted. I think a young man who was handed everything prior to this, it was a shock. It also seems to me that he is remorseful.

    I recognize that, perhaps, his remorse is stagged and he’s playing me for a fool, but I’m willing to see how he carries himself and whether he continues to do his good works. It matters a lot to me that Andy Reid (the Eagles coach) and Tony Dungy (ex Colts coach) are vouching for Vick. I respect them and if they are willing to put their good names on the line, I’m willing to wait before judging. I hope I’m not making a mistake.

    There could be some good that comes from this.

    • Stoutcat says:

      Steve–I applaud you for your compassion, and I, too, hope that some good can come from this. But if it were up to me, there would be no second chance for anyone who has proved to be as cruel and brutal as he.

  6. Steved says:

    Funny, in a way. I don’t consider myself as ‘compassionate’ usually, and I’m reserving the right to spit venom on Vick if he disappoints me even a little (not to mention how foolish I will feel).

    But the power of the personalities involved (Reid, Dungy, the Commisioner and the Eagles Owner), who are claiming to have met and talked with Vick extensively, have persuded me to reserve judgement….for the moment at least.

  7. JAMEE TROTTER says:

    THERE WILL NEVER BE ANY MORE SINGING OF “FLY EAGLES FLY” IN MY HOUSE EVER AGAIN.GIVING VICK A SECOND CHANCE REFLECTS VERY POORLY ON THE EAGLES COACH AND OWNER.HE KNEW WHAT HE WAS DOING ALL ALONG AND DID IT WITH HEARTLESS ABANDON. NOW THE BEST FRIENDS SANCTUARY IN UTAH HAVE BUILT A VICTORY LAND DOG HOME FOR THOSE WHO MADE IT THROUGH THE ORDEAL. THE ONES WHO CAN’T BE SOCIALIZED WILL HAVE A GOOD LIFE IN UTAH WITH PEOPLE WHO CARE ENOUGH ABOUT THEM TO OVERLOOK THE HORROR THAT CAME WITH DOGS TRAINED TO KILL. I HAVE RID MY CLOSET OF ANY OF MY EAGLES ATTIRE AND I HOPE THAT THE EAGLES FANS TAKE BACK THEIR TICKETS AND FLOOD THE FIELD WITH SHREDDED PIECES. I HOPE THE OTHER PLAYERS REFUSE TO EVEN SHARE THE FIELD WITH HIM. BUT THEN I GUESS HIS CONTRACT FOR A MILLION MIGHT BE A BIG INFLUENCE ON THOSE AROUND HIM.GOOD LUCK VICK…..YOU WILL PAY ONE OF THESE DAYS.

    • JAMEE TROTTER says:

      JUST SPOKE TO SOME FRIENDS FROM PHILLY AND THEY SAY IT MIGHT NOT YET BE A DONE DEAL. IF THEY GET ENOUGH PRESSURE, THEY BEING THE POWERS THAT BE, THEY MIGHT HAVE SECOND OR THIRD THOUGHTS ABOUT SIGNING VICK. THOSE OF US WHO HAVE STRUGGLED THROUGH MCNABB AND TO
      CAN ONLY HOPE THAT THESE RUMORS ARE TRUE.

  8. lissa and becy says:

    micheal vick should not be able to play he didn’t pay his dues he killed how many animals..and also what he did to his main dog take her teeth what vet would do that in there right mind…micheal vick should be charged with every dog that died and every that was humanely put down…i hope that everyone out there that loves animals the way we do. we work hard to find animals homes that people have just left out there to fend for them selfs….we stand here and will have fans that have been fans for years stop begin fans other teams have much better players….and they DON”T HAVE A PERSON THAT COULD DO THAT TO ANIMALS….HE IS A KILLER in our eyes….

  9. lissa and becy says:

    we have pitbulls are selfs and they are wonderful dogs…princes my red nose pitbull i got her from a humane society when she was 2 almost 3 months she now is a year and a half..princess watches my son where ever he goes she can not see him she looks..very good watch dog sleeps with my son in his room…because of what micheal vick did and will do again place a bad name on the breed and that is not fair to the animals….i will never watch the eagles play even if they play against my favorite team..NO SECOND CHANCE FOR MICHEAL VICK….HE IS A DOG KILLER…..

  10. I AM AFRAID THAT THE EAGLE’S FANS WILL BE SO DELIROUSLY HAPPY THAT THEY HAVE A QB WHO HAS PROVEN HIMSELF ON THE FIELD MANY TIMES AND WAS A “STAR”. WHAT HAS HAPPENED IN THESE DAYS AND TIMES WHEN PEOPLE HAVE TRADED THEIR SENSE OF MORALS AND THEIR SENSE OF THE RIGHT AND WRONG FOR MONEY,THE HEARTFELT KNOWLEDGE OF RIGHT AND WRONG, AND THEIR ACTIONS OF CRUELTY AGAINST HUMANITY?IT WILL NEVER BE JUSTIFYABLE NO MATTER HOW MANY TEARS THE MAN SHEDS OR THE UNBELIEVABLE WORDS HE SPOUTS FOR THE PRESS.I AM SURE HE IS WAITING FOR THE “BOOK” OFFERS TO COME OUT NOW.
    AS A NURSE I WOULD BE QUITE WILLING TO BEGIN THAT IV THAT WOULD DROP HIM INTO THE WORLD OF HELL FILLED WITH THE SAME OF HIS KIND SURROUNDED BY THE DOGS HE HAS MURDERED.

  11. In July 2008 I had to have my 1 year old pitbull put down, because of vicious behavior toward children.

Leave a Reply

