One Year’s Worth of Blogging


Well, it’s been exactly a year since Grand Rants was launched. It was really supposed to be Alan and Gerry’s blog. They’d been corresponding via email for years, and between the two of them managed to rack up over 15,000 emails on what’s going on in the world. So I strong-armed them both into agreeing to share their ideas with each other in a blog format, rather than email. I was never intending to be a part of it. How stupid was I? Yes, just stupid enough to think that I could set everything up for them and then step back and not want to participate. (Sure, how’s that workin’ out for ya?)

A year ago, our first post garnered a magnificent 0 (yes, that’s right, zero) views the first day it was up; but little by little we’ve garnered a few followers, a few regular commenters, and a rather respectable body of work. In fact, in that time, we’ve managed to put up 723 posts in 69 categories; we received 1,193 comments; we’ve deleted 2,364 spam comments; and we’ve worked our tails off at it.

As I’m sure most bloggers discover right off the bat, it’s harder than it looks, every day cranking out at least one post that is relevant, well-written, and to the point (whatever the point happens to be). Even with three co-bloggers, there were a few days when we couldn’t manage to post a thing.

But that was the exception, rather than the rule. Mostly, I think we’ve written some good stuff (some could have been better, but we’re all still learning), managed to make ourselves and our readers laugh a bit, and hopefully, given some insights into what’s going on in the world these days.

So I’d like to give a big thanks to our readers and commenters, and an even bigger thanks to Alan and Gerry–it’s been a great year. Here’s to many more!

Stoutcat

3 Responses to One Year’s Worth of Blogging

  1. Francesco says:

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. Sissy Willis says:

    A pure delight! SO glad I found you. Tea Parties rule! (That’s how we met, remember?) Congratulations to you and the fellows for keeping on keeping up one of my very favorite blogs!!!

  3. Gerry Ashley says:

    I’d like to give a gigantic thanks to my two incredible friends, Stoutcat and Alan for pestering me long enough to agree to do this. I resisted at first, but now I couldn’t be happier being part of Grand Rants. And I do think it’s appropriately named!

    One funny point, if you haven’t already noticed: The software automatically generates what IT thinks is a good match between this blog entry and others in the blogesphere based, I assume, on the title and category. I noticed with interest that the most matching posts turn out to be

    “R.I.P. Billy Mays” –
    Uh, and here I was actually thinking we’ve done well…

    “Deadly Day in Iraq” –
    No comment.

    “Calling All Tired And Cranky Moms – It Gets Better”

    Really, folks… we’ll try harder in year two. That’s a promise.

Leave a Reply

