I Remember Apollo 11: 40 Years Ago


Forty years ago yesterday, three of the bravest men who ever lived started a journey no-one else had ever taken. Looking now at the craft in which they traveled, they were even braver than I remember thinking them back in July of 1969.

apollo_1

These were our heroes, and they were more than equal to the job at hand: going to the Moon!

apollo 11 astronauts

Actually, it apparently got so mundane in the capsule, that 40 years ago today, July 17, 1969, the big news of the day was hearing and seeing Mike Collins discuss what the astronauts had to eat aboard Apollo 11.

What, no Tang?

Those truly were heady days.

Stoutcat

2 Responses to I Remember Apollo 11: 40 Years Ago

  1. I remember the excitement and disappointment I had regarding the moon landing. First, I was highly aware of the historical significance, even thought I was 15 years old. It seems that NASA lacks that appreciation, as they taped over the original tapes of the moon landing.

    I was disappointed because I was a soda jerk / ice cream stand employee that evening when the video was broadcast. I couldn’t believe all the people who showed up wanting ice cream when men were shown landing on the moon. I took solace by listening to Stevie Wonder on the way home at midnight on that warm summer evening. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1OlG2ek-wzs

  2. xformed says:

    Like Heritage, I was somewhere where it wasn’t the big thing on 7/21/1969 (yes 21). A post from many years ago discusses my experience on the day of the landing, albeit from the other side of the International Date Line.

    Had the model Saturn V built and followed the mission all the way…but it was another time.

Leave a Reply

