Are You Smarter Than a 29-Year-Old?

 

Here’s a great News IQ quiz from the Pew Research Center. I’d hope that anyone who reads Grand Rants would score at least 10 out of 12. (Full disclosure: I took the quiz and got all 12 questions correct, although I had to stop and think about one of them.)

As a nation, how’d we score? The those with a high-school education or less scored dismally, at the 31st percentile. Horrifyingly, however, the average 18- to 29-year-old scored even worse, down at the 28th percentile. These are the folks who voted in hordes for Obama. 

Hmmm, I wonder what conclusions we could draw?

Stoutcat

18 Responses to Are You Smarter Than a 29-Year-Old?

  1. Robert says:

    Phew, 12 0f 12, right.

  2. Josie says:

    I surprised myself by getting 11 out of 12 correct!
    Only they don’t tell you which one you missed (or the correct answer to it.)

  3. 11/12 says:

    but then again I’m in Canada.

  4. alan says:

    I missed one… Incredibly, it was the next to last – the one that asked about the number of American war dead in Iraq… Brain cramped on that one…

  5. WALTERC says:

    I missed the unemployment rate question. Apparently it isn’t closer to 12% . . .yet.

  6. So Cal Mike says:

    12/12 but I had to stop and think about the Dow Jones question. The average scores are chilling.
    So much for validity of the Flynn Effect!

  7. supercore says:

    27 y/o college drop out, 12 of 12.

    We’re not all idiots! Just, yknow, most of us….

  8. Gerry Ashley says:

    12 out of 12! I are a jeanius..geenius… I are smart!

    Uh, I think the conclusions we can gather from this are downright horrifying: These dolts will be told how well off they are by Obama and they’ll say to themselves, “Gwarsh! It MUST be true, ‘cos Obama says so. And HE wouldn’t lie to us WOULD he? Naw…”

    Want to know something even MORE scary? How much do you wanna bet that Michelle Obama says, “OK, Hon. I’ll take it from here,” at the end of two terms with Bambi. She should be announcing her candidacy probably halfway through Bambi’s second term.

    Anyone know what the emigration requirements are for New Zealand?

  9. Gary Hagland says:

    12/12, but am in an older demographic than the one that went so heavily for Obama, which gets its news from the Comedy Channel.

  10. Doc says:

    12 out of 12, age 53

    Seems that I should be smarter than to have voted for McCain… but actually I was voting against Obama.

  11. Birdseed anarchist says:

    12/12,Honest. took all of a minute. I guess I’m an internet newshound. Age56

  12. Tom says:

    Fifty one, college graduate, took about one minute, 12/12. The scary thing is, I suspect that the people who are interested enough to take this test will tend to score higher than those who aren’t. So many BHO voters may be even LESS well informed than some of the low scorers who took the test.

  13. Yoda says:

    For the record: 12 out of 12, 48 years old, not an Obama supporter. Maybe those youngsters are so pitifully uninformed because they get all their news from comedy shows, Facebook and Twitter?

  14. sue says:

    If I got them all correct, how come I am at the 94% and not the 99%

Leave a Reply

