Party Like It’s 1773

 

It’s been blogged about; it’s been covered on television (but mostly only by Fox News and PJTV), it’s been Twittered, and it’s happening next week!

We here at Grand Rants are eagerly awaiting April 15. Not only is it tax day, it’s also Tea Party Day, and we’ll be there with bells on, proudly exercising our First Amendment rights, which include not only free speech, but also the right peaceably to assemble!

I will be attending the Boston Tea Party (the day job gets in the way, so my time there will be somewhat limited). I’m hoping to get some pictures, video, and interviews of participants and will post them as soon as I can. Teaming with Alan, I’ll try to do some live-blogging, and if there’s an opportunity, I’ll Twitter while I’m there as well.

I’m eager to see what kind of turn-out there will be in this blue city in this bluest-of-blue states. I know I won’t be the only blogger there (hello, Sissy Willis!), but regardless, watch Grand Rants on Wednesday the 15th.

You never know; armed with my trusty camera, I might just manage to take the shot seen ’round the world.

Stoutcat

4 Responses to Party Like It’s 1773

  1. Gerry Ashley says:

    I’ve got to stop hanging out with the Avant-Garde folks at times like this. I’ve been invited to attend a green earth tea party on the 15th. Also, anyone bringing tea is asked to make sure it’s herbal and caffeine free. They just don’t get it. I think they are in denial, worried that regular tea might put too much caffeine in the water that the fish will be on edge and unable to sleep.

    So I’m going to get a few of my Navy Seals friends and head over off the coast of Somolia, and throw a bunch of pirates into the water to celebrate freedom.

    I wonder if our friends in the Washington DC area have considered throwing their tea into the reflecting pool?

  2. Wow, I’m amazed that when some Americans have a quibble about the politics of spending they start a tax revolt. Our GLBT families AND children are SUB-American in Federal Law; we suffer NEEDLESSLY in times of crisis, disease, and death due to our legal exclusion from FAMILY LAW.

    I’m afraid YOU will have to pay OUR taxes from now on, until WE are equal. [National Equality Tax Revolt 2009]

    • Hi John,

      Some thoughts…

      * Speaking strictly for myself (though I’m pretty sure that I can speak for Grand Rant writers Gerry and Stoutcat…), I think the GLBT element of our society has gotten the short end of the stick, The whole idea of a “separate bur equal” “legal union” somehow equating to marriage is just asinine. (Didn’t we as a culture try “separate but equal” before, and didn’t that end up ruinous?) Bet you’d never guess that you’d hear a conservative talk like this!

      * Not quite sure how I’m going to pay your taxes… Do a search on “homosexual” and “average income”… By all indicators, homosexuals alone make more money than heterosexuals. (Ex: http://books.google.com/books?id=fq4Ush7JNa0C&pg=PA296&lpg=PA296&dq=%22average+income%22+homosexual&source=bl&ots=6FXo0Rqsvv&sig=S0jq5LjC8gsRZ8VYWzCh6cAXkLk&hl=en&ei=7KXiSd3cFseblAfTzv3fDg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=7#PPA297,M1). If anything, President Obama and Congress has (or will have) ensured that successful people like gays will be paying higher taxes.

      * I’m not quite sure what an “Equality Tax Revolt” means… Look… I’m just a simple engineer… How about if we just institute a simple flat tax. Example: Let’s say we simply set it at 10%… If you make $15,000/year, you pay $1,500. If you make $1,500,000/year, you pay $150,000/year. Here’s the bottom line… It’s unfair for a gay actor, gay sports star, or gay politician to pay more than his fair share of taxes than I do. Why should he pay 39% and I pay nothing in federal taxes? Why? Just because he happens to be gifted at acting, or football, or politics… Why should I punish him financially and make him pay for my part of the American Pie?

      And before you go down the “Reparations Road”, I’ll tell you straight up that it ain’t gonna work… Look at my last name… I can’t tell you the number of times I got shortchanged because of that even though I’m an agnostic. Life is unfair. Get over it.

      No… Obama is bringing a new vision to America, and it carries a whopping price tag. Too bad that GLBT will have to pay more than their fair share for that vision.

      Like I said… Life ain’t fair.

      Thanks for your comment,

      Alan

Leave a Reply

