In Other News Today

Astronaut and blogger Ron Garan is coming home after nearly six months in space. Reflecting on his preparation for his trip,  he writes:

“As I prepared to leave for final launch preparations, I experienced an interesting phenomenon. Realizing that leaving Houston starts me on a journey that will take me off the planet for six months, I started to take note of things that I will not experience for half a year. Whether it’s a flock of birds against the sunset or early morning mist on the water of Clear Lake, or a million other things that define the beauty of life on our planet, I experienced a profound appreciation for the gift of the beauty of our world. I will miss a great many experiences that I normally take for granted, but I also look forward to the new experiences that define the beauty of life off the planet.”

Not only does Mr. Garan write a fascinating narrative, he also posts some gorgeous photos of Earth from space. Like this one:

Dancing lights near Tasmania 11:00am GMT September 14, 2011

For a refreshing change from AttackWatch, rising unemployment numbers, thug tactics, and the like, check out Mr. Garan’s blog. And you can follow him on Twitter at @Astro_Ron, where he just posted this gorgeous shot.

Stoutcat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers