Miss Me Yet?

No, not that guy, me; Stoutcat!

In case you wondered where I’ve been since last week, I’ll tell you first what I haven’t been doing. I haven’t been at work; I haven’t been spending upwards of $100 a week for my public transportation; I also haven’t been spending 5 hours commuting to and from work each day. What I have been doing is spending time here:

That’s Red River Beach, in Harwich, MA on beautiful Cape Cod. Even though the East Coast is still sweltering in the clutches of a merciless heat wave, the beach has been lovely, with cooling breezes, refreshing water, and no tar! With sunscreen, a beach umbrella, comfy beach chair, some cool water, and a good Patricial Cornwell novel, I’m happy as  a clam each day.

Then there’s seafood fresh from the local fish market, the town band playing on the green, and best of all, Cape Cod League baseball games most evenings. You want to know the best thing of all? I actually live here!

I’ll be blogging sporadically over the next week or so while I enjoy summer here on Cape Cod, and then it will be back to the regular schedule.

But until then, life is good.

Stoutcat

ADDENDUM: In no way do I mean to belittle the troubles now being faced by Gulf Coast citizens when I mention the lack of tar up here. Cape Cod has had its own share of oil spills, so we understand what you are living through.

5 Responses to Miss Me Yet?

  1. [...] This post was Twitted by Stoutcat [...]

  2. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Stoutcat, Grand Rants. Grand Rants said: Miss me yet? http://bit.ly/czubuU #tcot [...]

  3. Gerry Ashley says:

    I’m sure I speak for many when I say “enjoy your break!”

    That said, I have to chuckle just a bit… “Suffering through a merciless heat wave?” Do you know what we call that down here in Florida?

    We call it Wednesday. Or Thursday. Or pretty much any day of the week from June until November. It cooled DOWN to 88 degrees overnight. But the humidity was only 88% so… But I chose to live here and the winters make it worth the summers.

    Everywhere has it’s beauty and Cape Code has it in abundance, year round. Once that “heat wave” breaks, you’ll be back to “Summer In Paradise” (Well, except for the tourist crush, perhaps.

    I hope you will get a chance to take in a show at the Cape Cod Melody Tent. If there’s ever a drought on the cape, THAT’S the place to go. Get good tickets to an expensive show and the drought is guaranteed to end the night of the show. It never failed me.

    Enjoy the vacation! I’ll do my best to keep the fires stoked while you’re gone. Maybe when you return you can answer the burning question: Just how happy IS a clam?

  4. For most fishermen, the reward in the fishing sport with the fishing charteris not the main prize. The fish caught causes any fishing trip thrilling to watch. Fish that are commonly sought after when on fishing charters are wahoo, tuna, king mackerel, dolphins, billfish, barracudas and even sharks.

  5. [...] going to take a few weeks off–while Stoutcat just had a vacation, both Alan and Gerry definitely need some time off from the heavy political lifting. Also, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers