Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep




Do not stand at my grave and weep
I am not there; I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,
I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.
When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.
I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there; I did not die.

Mary Elizabeth Frye – 1932

UPDATE: Memorial Day 2010

4 Responses to Do Not Stand at My Grave and Weep

  1. Sissy Willis says:

    My precious girl.I am weeping for my precious boy. Thank you for this beautiful song. http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=+site:sisu.typepad.com+sisu+baby+babe

  2. Gerry Ashley says:

    I thought that writing about my friend Terry would be the catharsis I needed. Watching the video, however, proves to me the loss is always there. Perhaps it’s not so much the loss of life as it is the loss of what might have been. He’d have made the kind of father we need in this country. That intensifies the loss. It makes me hope there is a world beyond this where all our young warriers can live the lives they so deserved.

  3. sisu says:

    Do not stand at my grave and weep…

    “Do not stand at my grave and weep . . . I am not there.”…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers